2022 Haury Program Tribal Resilience Awardees Honored at Special Evening Event

March 15, 2023


Colleagues, friends, and family gathered with the UArizona Haury Program on Monday evening, March 13, 2023 to honor the 2022 Haury Program Tribal Resilience Awardees. This year, three inspiring UArizona women were selected who have dedicated their careers to serving Native Nations: Dr. Karen Francis Begay, Director Kathy Jacobs, and Director Claudia Nelson.

These awards were conceived to elevate Native voices, to recognize people who advance Indigenous resilience, and to inspire others to follow in their paths. The Haury Program also recognizes those who have been mentors to the Program. These individuals help the Haury Program engage in philanthropy that is respectful, place-based, and impactful, recognizing the importance of reciprocity in all work for and with tribes.

This is the third year of the Haury recognition program, and these awardees join the following prior awardees:

  • Captain David Harvey of the Indian Health Services
  • Mr. James Adakai (Diné) of the Navajo Nation Division of Community Development
  • Dr. Karletta Chief (Diné), Director of the Indigenous Resilience Center
  • Dr. Crystal Tulley-Cordova (Diné) of the Navajo Nation Department of Water Resources
  • Nikki Tulley (Diné), UArizona Ph.D. candidate Haury Program Executive Director

Toni Massaro presented the awards. The following are excerpts from Haury Director Massaro’s recognition of the honorees:

All three honorees spoke on the significance of their family and colleagues in supporting their work. We hope you join the Haury Program in heartily thanking them for their enduring contributions in serving Tribal Resilience.

The Agnese Nelms Haury Program